Slo-Pitch Latest News
Girls softball league teams up with <b>slo</b>-<b>pitch</b> league for 'win-win' partnership
We had the following situation in our slopitch league last night:
- Runner on 1st
- Batter grounds ball to SS, who throws 2B, beating the runner.
- Runner was clearly out in the estimation of both teams, but no call is made and so he gets up and sort of lazily starts jogging to third. When he realizes no call has been made and nobody is attempting to get him out, he starts running harder and makes it to third before a play is made.
My question is whether or not there should have been a safe/out call at second on the force play. The umpire stated that he was clearly safe, rounded the base (I believe he actually half-slid into the base) and thus he is not required to indicate whether the runner is safe or not.
Any thoughts?submitted by /u/paulywork to r/Umpire